UC News

Karnataka polls 2018: Mining baron GJ Reddy's brother to contest from Bellary city - Check BJP's 2nd list here

Karnataka polls 2018: Mining baron GJ Reddy's brother to contest from Bellary city - Check BJP's 2nd list here

Bengaluru: The Bharatiya Janata Party on Monday released the second list of 82 candidates for the upcoming Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 for the 224 seats across the southern state, a day after the party's central election committee met in New Delhi to put a stamp on the names of its nominees. The elections are scheduled to be held on May 12 and counting is to be held on May 15. With the announcement of the second list, the BJP has declared nominees for 154 constituencies. Out of the 224 Assembly segments across Karnataka, 173 are for general, 36 reserved for Scheduled Castes (SCs) and 15 for Scheduled Tribes (STs). The BJP has 48 MLAs in the outgoing Assembly, including four from the regional outfit, Karnataka Janata Party, which was floated by Yeddyurappa in December 2012.

In the second list, the BJP has nominated G Somashekar Reddy, the elder brother of tainted mining baron G Janardhan Reddy, from Bellary City while Kumar Bangarappa, the son of late chief minister S Bangarappa, has been nominated from Sorab. Krishnaiah Setty, an old aide of Yeddyurappa, will contest from Malur. The BJP had on April 09 released the first list of 72 candidates. The list was finalised by the central election committee of the BJP that met under the party's national president Amit Shah. Prominent nominees were BJP's chief ministerial face BS Yeddyurappa from Shikaripura, Jagadish Shettar from Hubli-Dharwad Central, KS Eshwarappa from Shivamogga, Basavaraj Bommai from Shiggaon, B Sriramulu from Molakalmuru (reserved), CM Udasi from Hangal and KV Hegde from Sirsi. Out of 72, only three were women candidates - Sashikala Jolle from Nippani Assembly segment, Poornima Srinivas from Hiriyur, and Roopali Naik from Karwar.

Meanwhile, Karnataka's ruling Congress on Sunday announced the names of 218 candidates for the Assembly Elections. Six names are yet to be announced. However, this has led to a furore with many party workers, upset with ticket distribution, ransacking the Congress office in Bengaluru today. Meanwhile, BJP leader and former Karnataka chief minister DV Sadananda Gowda hit out at the Congress. "Congress has a legacy of family members getting tickets. Never ever a new face is promoted. So the same continues in Karnataka. They are continuing to give tickets to successions of the same family, persons who were earlier legislators or parliamentarians," Gowda told news agency ANI. He added that the people of the country would teach the Congress a 'proper lesson'.

"In BJP and other parties, we also sometimes give tickets to family members of leaders but those are exceptions. They are given tickets based on their performance," said Gowda.

Open UCNews to Read More Articles



BJP Will not morethan 25 seats

4 Days ago

Read More Comments